Broager Strand Camping has an interesting history, dating back to the end of the 19th century, when the place was just an inn, built in 1874.
However, the place did not historically make to the local map until 1902. The man, who sailed the ferry between Skelde and Sønderborg across the Bay of Sønderborg to buy butter around the turn of the century, started bringing Metropolitans to visit the inn with the unique location.
At that time, the inn was quite an attraction and despite the water, the connection between Sønderborg and Skelde became close, due to the ferry.
Waiting and playing cards
Going with the ferry back then was no luxurious trip like now and the people from Sønderborg sometimes had to wait a long time, before they could go back to town after visiting the inn. They spent the waiting time playing cards and the inn was soon named “Ace of Spades”.
In 1924, the innkeeper’s daughters took over the place, changing the name to “Queen of Spades”, but still running with plenty of ferry guests.
Along came the Germans
Rooks were in the late 50s and early 60s the specialty of the house in “Ace of Spades” and guests continued to come, also due to the annual Whitsun ball. However, a couple of unexpected German guests in 1963 started the transformation of the place.